Season 2015 – 16

In the upcoming season the Hugo Wolf Quartet will again perform a concert series in Vienna:

The programs are inspired by the Zeitgeist of the Fin de Siècle according to the musical world created by Hugo Wolf and Alban Berg. The artistic approach is to step open-minded into the future accompanied by memories of the past. Once again, the Hugo Wolf Quartet plays classics such as Franz Schubert's String Quartet D 887, the third Prussian Quartet by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and the Quartet in E flat major op.12 by Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy and combines them with new works, including two world premieres of a joint initiative with the Alban Berg Foundation and Jeneusse Austria. Performances by their renowned collegues are promising more highlights to come: The Ensemble is going to play the sextet no. 2 by Johannes Brahms and »Verklärte Nacht« by Arnold Schönberg with violinist Christian Altenburger and cellist Mario Brunello. Pianist Christoph Berner and Alois Posch, who is the former principal double bassist of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, will be joining the series by performing Schubert's »Trout Quintet«.

The concert series is jointly organised by the Alban Berg Foundation and Jeunesse Austria.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: String Quartet F major KV 590
t.b.a.: New work (Composition Competition) (premiere)
Franz Schubert: String Quartet G major D 887

Johannes Brahms: String Quartet Sextet No. 2 G major op. 36
Theodor W. Adorno: String Quartet
Arnold Schönberg: Verklärte Nacht / String Sextet D minor op. 4

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Streichquartett Es-Dur op. 12
t.b.a.: New work (Composition Competition) (premiere)
Franz Schubert: String Quartet A minor D 804 »Rosamunde«

Joseph Haydn: String Quartet D major Hob. III:49 »Der Frosch«
Josef Maria Horváth: Redundanz 2
Franz Schubert: Piano Quintet A major D 667 »Trout Quintet«

All concerts at Vienna Konzerthaus, Schubert-Saal, 7:30 p.m.

Further information and tickets here.